Recording live drum with BR-8

BHead

Experienced BR-8 users who have recorded live drum ... please help here! :)

I have 2 Shure SM57's and want to record some live drum with them.

1. How should I place the 2 mics?

2. Should I record DRY? Or with effects?

3. What kind of EQ tips can you offer me? :)

Please reply as I'm a total BR-8 newbie!

Thanks! :)

One on the kick and the other above, record with effects 'off' and ajust the EQ to your ears. I do like a like a little reverb on the final mix.

72fender,

Thanks MAN! :)

Before I try it out this weekend :) ... one more thing ... how good was the result of your drum recording? Can you get the "stereo" feel? Got enough bass? Got enough cymbals? etc ......

Hmmmm ... can't wait to see how I'll do.

The live drum recording was just a test with my band's drummer, it came out pretty good but not good separation of drum heads.
For stereo 'feel' you must use more mics on the drum kit with a mixer. You need at least six mics mixed down to 2 chs via a mixer to the BR-8. The BR-8 is really for 'bedroom' recordings, I usually use a drum machine (DR-5) and record the drums in stereo. Here is a example: http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/152/the_primetime_blues_band.html.

First of all I did the 250MB ZIP conversion (to have more recording time) and I recorded all the backing tracks, bass, guitar, vocal and drums (using a DR-5 drum machine). I placed four mics on the drums and sub-mixed them using a Mackie mixer because I wanted a stereo mix on the drums. I used a patch cable and plugged them into the BR-8's R&L Line-In, I disabled the Effect option on the BR-8.