recording drums

discordJF

I currently have 3 shure 57's, 2 58's, and and akg d-112. I want to get a killer metal drum sound with my vs-1680. I don't have the expansion boards and the built in effects. Is there anything else i need to recording, like mic preamps. Also, if I really don't need anything else, could somebody walk me through recording the drums. I'm kinda new to recording and the vs-1680, so I'll need ALL the help i can get. Thanks.

I wouldn't go crazy with your first few recordings, cause by the time you are done you'll know what you're doing, and want to go back and do it better. I highly reccomend purchasing one effects card. Anyway...drums. First decide how many tracks you will use on other instruments, add one or two (for bouncing if you decide that you need another guitar at the last minute), and the remaining tracks can go to drums.
Try this:
overhead L & R...57s
toms L & R...58s
bass...akg
snare...57
You can get a much tighter sound out of that...if you use noise gates.
If you'd like a more detailed answer, tell us how many tracks for drums you think you'll have, and what kind of money you can spend. Good Luck!

I only wanted to use eight tracks, the most. I'm only willing to spend about $1,000. Please give me the lowdown on what I can do with this price range. Thanks.