Recording down tuned bass?

Talldog

Pain in the ass
Hey all. I'm having a bitch of a time getting a good sound on bass for a metal band that uses an A flat tuning. It is an active yamaha bass. I have a passive DI box and an active DI box, an SWR amp and multiple mics (which I admit I haven't tried yet) and an Amek Tac board with Langley pres. Any Ideas?

So what have you tried? Like anything else, you gotta get a good sound to begin with. I've never tried recording a bass tuned that low, but I can't imagine the DI sound being any good. I'm guessing it probably sounds like a wet fart?

Wet fart is about right. Thanks for the analogy. Being a bassist myself I've usually had good luck with an active DI and a passive bass. I've tried both kinds of DI that I have. I have a pretty nice mic locker so I'll give that a shot next. The eqing is going to be funky since the guitars are down tuned and taking up sonic space that I would normally use for some bass frequencies.

5 string.
ok so you're only tuned down 1 1/2 steps? That's not too bad.

Since the gits are gonna be taking up bass space you'll want to go the other way with the bass somewhat and EQ it to get more of the mids and especially upper mids coming thru.

Last edited:
If it's a 5 string and the tuning is A flat, hasn't it gone down 3 semitones ? I'm a bit shaky on that one !

If it's a 5 string and the tuning is A flat, hasn't it gone down 3 semitones ? I'm a bit shaky on that one !
no you're right ..... my bad ....... brain wasn't working yet!
But that's still not too bad as compared to tuning a 4 string down that far.
Holy crap ..... the gits are tuned down 7 semi-tones! :eek:

I wonder if its just the 5 string bass thats tuned to this A-flat..ie: the normal B string down 3 semi-tones. Perhaps the guitars are only down a half step making the open A position the A-flat.....

Depending on what roll the bass plays in the arrangement, there are a couple choices.