Recording Banjo

ciderbill

I'm going to be recording a bluegrass band, and wondered if anyone has any thoughts on the best way to do the banjo, short of throwing it into a woodchipper.

I'm pretty new to recording things myself - although I've been involved with recording for several years now (on the other side of the glass).

With that caveat, in my limited experience I would recommend a condensor mics at distance on the banjo. This is how we recorded the banjo on this track:

We had one mic (a Rode NT2 I think) at distance of about one meter.
It seemed to work well enough.

If the bluegrass band are up for it I would try and record them live with a stereo pair in X-Y, some close mics and some ambient mics (if you have the inputs).
In this case you might want to use a dynamic mic a little closer to the banjo to get better isolation.

Thanks for the reply. I was thinking along the condenser mic lines. I've been doing the home recording thing for awhile, and have made some decent recordings, but I'm still looking for the "banjo sound" that'll satisfy our banjo player. Normally he uses an SM57, but he doesn't have a real understanding of mic placement. I'm going to try my Rode NT1 and see what happens. We've done some recordings using our PA mixer and the banjo always gets lost. You can check out some of our recordings here:

I've had good luck with an AT4033 at a distance recording the whole band (WSM style). I've also tight mic'ed with a SM-57 (after all, it's practicly a drum).

ciderbill said: