recording a midi track

carlosfl

I’m having a problem with what’s being recorded on my sequencing software. I am using Sonar 3 Producer edition, and a micro Korg synthesizer/vocoder. Every time I record a midi track using my Korg synthesizer, the sounds played back on my sequencing software sound generic, bells and whistles, sounds that aren’t even from my Korg. I’m interested in recording exactly what I play, and hear from my Korg. I would extremely appreciate it if any one can help.

I really need help. I’m trying to Record what I am playing live from my Korg onto a sequencer like Sonar so that I can edit, add, and rearrange parts. Then combine them all with recorded parts of a guitar, which I recorded using a mic. Any suggestions recommendations? Any and every suggestion is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I'm no expert on midi, but it sounds like you don't have your midi devices set up correctly. Midi is not sound, but only instructions for generating sound (a midi "recording" tells your midi module which instrument to play, the note, volume, length, etc.). Different midi modules will have different built in sounds. Probably what is happening is that your software is recording the instructions from the Korg, but is using your computer's soundcard to generate the midi notes on playback. Thus, you will need to configure the Korg as the MIDI output device in Sonar. That way, the instructions will be fed back out to the Korg and the sound will be re-created. Be aware that there will be a delay (latency) between the time that the computer tells the Korg to play the sound and when the sound is actually generated.

To get around this, you can record audio, instead of midi, from your synth. Or, if Sonar supports VST instruments (or similar), you could try out some of those for different synth sounds.

Thanks for your response