Recommendations for Mac Recording/Mixing Software

Spillenger

I am a Mac user (a recent convert) who uses the computer mainly for editing video with Final Cut Pro 5. I’m also a musician who, prior to converting to Mac, happily used Sonar 4 Studio for recording and mixing music. I have enjoyed playing around with Garage Band 3, but I can already feel its limitations. I am not that interested in MIDI sequencing. I am mostly interested in recording acoustic and electric instruments (real audio) with a multitrack recording program. I do like the idea of being able to use instrument samples and maybe even percussion loops to supplement the instruments I actually know how to play. I probably don’t need to be able to record more than 4 tracks at a time, since I’m mostly recording alone at this point, and how many instruments can I really play at once?!

Given these considerations, what is the best software recording/mixing/mastering program I can get for the Mac? I’ve played around with Cubase LE, which came with my audio interface, the Presonus Firebox, and I liked the interface, but I can tell this version is pretty limited in what it can do. I’ve looked at Logic Express, since it’s an Apple product, and I figured it would interface nicely with other Apple programs, should that prove desirable, but it seems to be made mainly for MIDI lovers, and the interface is pretty SCARY.

If I went with Cubase, what would be the main considerations in choosing among SX3, SE3 and SL3?

Keeping in mind that I’m not an engineer, but a musician who is willing to learn the basics, what are my options for a program that’s made more for actual audio than MIDI, but which has some basic capacity for MIDI should I want to play with that later? (If Sonar worked on a Mac, I’d probably go with that.)

My system: Power Mac G5 Quad w/4gb RAM. Presonus Firebox. Mackie 8-channel mixer.

Thanks a lot!

Paul S.