Realtime Effects?

Sirflex10

Yeah, Yeah, I'm a noob idiot beginner...Is it possible to hear effects while your recording or do I need additional hardware..from my understanding I need an external signal processor? Is that correct. Is there any software that will allow me to hear effects while recording vocals in real time and also adjust (add remove) effects in real-time. Thanks a trillion.

Yes, it's possible. At least if you're using Sonar

You need to activate Input Monitoring. In Sonar 2 you do this under Options -> Audio -> Input Monitoring. In Sonar 3 you click the "Input Monitoring"-button next to the "Arm Track"-button.

BUT you need low latency for this to work, and by low I mean under 5 ms. So a reasonable up-to-date computer and a good soundcard is needed.

Cakewalk is the company. Are you thinking about Pro Audio 9?

It's not possible to do in PA9.

Told you I was an idiot

Well i've been reading and it seems as if an audio interface is what I really need to accomplish the 'real time' effects. Is that correct? Or is it possible without an audio interface? (I'm recording to a computer) Sorry about being so dumb..lol

An audio-inteface is basically a soundcard, so no, you can't do it without one. ;)

if your recording vox it can't be done...i've tried with terrible results...sounds like your a robot talkin into a empty metal can and i'm talkin latencies at .7ms!...you would have to h/w monitor thru your sound card for zero latency...

Got It!!

Thanks guys, I figured it out...I can now hear the effects in 'real time' ...but like you said latency is the issue...

Teacher said:
if your recording vox it can't be done...
What?!?

I do it all the time. Works great!:) Nothing says "you're a good singer" like some reverb on the cans to the vocalist. :)

Minimizing latency