Really dumb question about compression

Revmuddy

This is beginner stuff I know, but.....I need help here. :confused:
I have a Tascam TSR-8 and an Alesis XT-20 with a 1604 Mackie VLZ Pro mixer. I have been doing various home recording for over 20 years, don't have a compressor, and don't really know what a compressor does. Do I need one? Does it compressthe signal so you can get more signal to noise on the tape? I have used one on my guitar for years for sustain....is this the same thing? Will the one in my Boss ME-50 work with my mixer? What is a good brand to buy for the TSR-8 and XT-20? I WILL GREATLY APPRECIATE any help! Thank You............. :) :rolleyes: :p :D

what kind of music did you record for 20 years ?

classical music ?

or just accoustic projects without drums and stuff ?

..and YES... you do need a compressor....even if you just wanna mown the grass...even then.... know what i'm saying.... i don't record without one !

Revmuddy said:
I have used one on my guitar for years for sustain....is this the same thing? Will the one in my Boss ME-50 work with my mixer? What is a good brand to buy for the TSR-8 and XT-20?

Well the compressor gives your guitar sustain because you are boosting the gain using the compressor, and the compressor itself quiets down your attack so the peak volume doesn't become offensive with the increase in gain.

Yeah, you can use your Boss compressor with your mixer, but you probably won't be happy with the quality of the sound. Still, the principle is the same, so you might as well experiment with it to learn what compression does. However the dials on the ME-50 don't have standard compressor labelling on them, so consult your manual to see if it tells you exactly what they do.

You CAN record without compression. However nearly all modern records are (heavily) compressed. Come over to the dark side of the force!

You can record without compression, but you are limiting your sonic possibilities.