Ready to go back to Tape

BenignVanilla

Oy. I am really getting frustrated.

I have Sonar 8.5 Producer running on a Quad Core machine with 7GB of RAM. I am connected to a MOTU 8pre. To say I am getting drop outs, is an understatement.

I am new to the 64bit world, so maybe this is a configuration issue, but I can't get anything done with this setup. It should work perfectly with this much horsepower.

Where's my portostudio? Tape ain't so bad...

How long have you been running this setup?

Did it work previously?

Is this system connected to the internet?

Do you have the correct driver type selected in the Audio options inside Sonar?

Have you visited musicxp.com or a similar site to optimize your system for audio?

-jake

Jake, thanks for the response. This is a new system, so I am still experiencing setup/growing pains with it. I'll check out the tuning site you recommended, and see if that helps.

back to 32

I have Sonar 8.5 Producer running on a Quad Core machine with 7GB of RAM. I am connected to a MOTU 8pre. To say I am getting drop outs, is an understatement.

I am new to the 64bit world, so maybe this is a configuration issue, but I can't get anything done with this setup. It should work perfectly with this much horsepower.

My friend uses SPE 8.5 too, but in "32 bit mode", and is quite happy.

I have less of a computer than you and run Sonar STUDIO 8.5 32 bit ASIO on XP Pro with 2) Presonus FireStudio Projects (16 xlr inputs) without a hiccup.

Scott.

More thoughts:

Make sure that your on-board (built into the motherboard) sound card is disabled (access during computer boot by pressing "del" key to access your system BIOS). Usually inside a menu called "Integrated Devices" and set it from Auto to Disabled.

D/L and install latest 8pre driver from www.MOTU.com
Cakewalk Driver Guide:
http://www.cakewalk.com/tips/ahg/
Setup Guide:
http://www.cakewalk.com/Support/hardwaresetup/asio.asp?man=MOTU