re-soldering dry joints in old hi-fi amp

downonthestreet

Not sure if this question is appropriate in this section, or even on this BB, but let's see...

I have an old but good quality Sony hifi amp - was once top of the line. The attenuator pots and balance pots now need replacing, as they are noisy, and I have been told that most of the joints are dry and need resoldering. Have been quoted more than the amp is now worth to do these repairs.

I have no experience whatever in electronics, but am wondering how difficult it might be to do these repairs myself. Is re-soldering the dry joints a job for an expert, or just a bit painstaking? Any special equipment required?

NOTE: I wouldn't even know what a dry joint - or any joint - actually looked like, but I didn't know anything about car engines, either, and managed to tune up my car for 15 years after a few minutes of hands-on instruction from someone who knew what they were doing (I took notes). Never did undestand how the engine worked, or why I was adjusting the dwell angle, setting the carbie as I was taught etc, and the tuning up still got the engine purring!

Wondering if it is realistic to learn about repairing my amp from someone who knows their stuff, or is it a job that can't be learned overnight and should not be attempted by someone without an initial clue?

Cheers

downonthestreet said:
I have an old but good quality Sony hifi amp - was once top of the line. The attenuator pots and balance pots now need replacing, as they are noisy, and I have been told that most of the joints are dry and need resoldering.

Street,

Not what we usually deal with here - but will give it a shot.

I'm confused a bit by what I'm seeing you've been told.

A "dry joint" is generally describe as follows: