Quick Introduction...

Wonderlick

Good day everyone!

My name's D, and I've been lurking around the forum for awhile, listening to all of the tracks and discussions. I'm relatively new to playing instruments and absolutely new to recording them, but it's becoming a fascinating hobby rather quickly.

I've always listened to music passionately, so it's fun to try slop a tune together and see what it sounds like - crafting, but with sound. I totally suck at all facets, but nonetheless have a strong desire to learn how to put it all together. The entire process has really increased my respect for musicians in general - I feel a twinge of regret in missing out on truly hearing the music that has moved me all these years.

Anyways, I guess there's a ten post rule, so I wanted to get started on that. Much of my advice early on may be shallow, but I'll try to help. Currently my recording equipment consists of the trial version of Reaper, an average acoustic and bass guitar, a practice bass amp, and the extremely high quality Gigaware microphone.

Even with such lame pieces of equipment, though, the advice found here has made my cheesy and moderately offensive songs sound much better. Whether that's a blessing or a curse for all within earshot is yet to be determined. :)

But again, it's a pleasure to make all of your electronic acquaintances, and thank you for all the posts I have devoured up to this point.

D

Hi D and welcome.

Heh! I now see the sarcasm re the mic! Did not get it at first but tis still early here!

AFAICS you do not have an Audio Interface? This should be your next purchase and there are a few points to consider.

Input track count. For a one man band, bedroom jockey two mic inputs is enough (but no less!). If you think you might be involved in recording several people you can get up to 8 mic inputs for reasonable monies but after that it gets very costly.