questions about miking drums on a budget

Promkingdrummer

I know that this question has probably been asked before, but i have gotten sorta confused after reading so many threads. I am a young musician that does not have much experience with recording. My friends and I have been playing in my friends basement but his parents got tired of the volume, so we are building a room in his barn to play and record. We have about $500 set aside for mics, so my question is which mics would be best for us to record drums, two guitars, a bass, and vocals within the budget(we plan to mic each instrument seperately and run them into a mixer to record on a computer). I have one Sure SM 57 already. If anybody could answer this question, or just give us advice about recording, that would be great. Thanks

wow were to start with 500 bucks

but i have been in similar situtations before

use the sm 57 on snare (FREE)
Studio Projects B1 Overhead Left (100)
Studio Projects B1 Overhead Right (100)
Sennhiser E609 on guitar 1 (100)
shure SM 57 on guitar 2 (90)
Behringer GI100 Di Box for bass (30)

i dont know if you can find a decent kick drum mic for 80 bucks

but for 200 you can get the AKG D112

i did the best i could

ok, thanks man, one question, if i were to get an akg d112 for the kick drum mic, could i also record the bass cab off of it? and i am hopefully going to be able to get a job soon, so are there better mics that you would suggest for me to save up for? again thanks for the reply.