question regarding the use of hardware versus software

cooljoebay

I am not really a newbie. But having been recording since I was in elementary school, using speakers and anything else I could get my hands on, its a load of fun using 99% software to do my recordings. The only thing I would consider hardware in my DIY studio would be the audio interface and the pc. It seems like software has come a long way and can pretty much cover anything. But I see a lot of cool looking home studios on this website that are still using a lot of high priced hardware. But I don't really understand why. Wouldn't it make sense to keep the investment as low as possible while still getting the same result? Wouldn't this keep the cost down for clients, or possibly a bigger profit? I just don't see the point of running the audio signals through a bunch of rack gear and consoles when the pc can do it all. Would love to hear some opinions about it.

Not everyone agrees that digital FX and soft synths and such are as good as the original analog stuff.

Do you really think B4 sounds as good as a real Hammond B3 organ and a well-maintained Leslie, or even an M3 for that matter???

i think some software is very close to its hardware versions, and in some cases surpassed due to its convenience (thinking old synths lack of midi and/or ability to stay in tune)..but there is no way a $150 software compressor is going to trumph its $3000 counterpart...its just that Im never gonna own that $3k one so UAD will do just fine thanks ;)