Question re: FMR RNC and FMR RNLA

Doowah

Hi, folks. I've already purchased both the "Really Nice Preamp" (RNP) and the "Really Nice Compressor" (RNC) from FMR Audio after doing a lot of research here and on gearslutz.com, among other places. I am really pleased with both units and so far I feel like I've made good choices by adding them to my equipment line-up for the home recording studio that I'm assembling.

I'm relatively new to home recording, but I have a deep background in music, audio, electronics, and computers. So, I've learned a lot here and I'm catching on pretty quick. However, I'm having a hard time figuring out what the FMR Audio "Really Nice Leveling Amplifier" (RNLA) brings to the party. Just how is this piece of kit differentiated from the FMR RNC? I understand that it apparently "colors" the audio signal, as opposed to the RNC's more "transparent" treatment. But, is that the only difference between the two units? Is it simply another "flavor" of compression, or are there particular unique circumstances where the RNLA would be more appropriate than the RNC? What is the difference (if any) between a compressor and a "leveling amplifier"?

As usual, I apologize if this is a simplistic noob question. I'm just having a hard time seeing beyond the FMR Audio website's sparse description of this unit's functionality and application, and I'm unable to see where it might be useful to me in my home studio. In short, would it be desirable to own both the RNC and the RNLA?

Thanks for any insight that can be shared.

Last edited:
Though I'm not gonna be able to explain the difference with words (as my words aren't working well right now), I can tell you that it's pretty easy to hear and feel the difference if you actually use a leveling amp.
But who wants to spend the money, right?

There are some not particularly great plugins called "Modern Plugins."
You can get them here for free:
http://antress.er-webs.com/