Question about wrapping up mix

Rock Star 87

I've heard many different opinions on this, so I'm gonna ask. If I have drums running from bars 1-16, then 32-48, do you automate the volume fader down the whole way from 16-32. Does it matter if you keep the fader at the set volume if there's nothing running on the track.

if theres nothing happening from 16-32, cant you just insert silence or delete that whole span and leave the fader alone? thats what id do, but im a rookie, so take that advice at your own risk. ;)

SonicAlbert said:
I personally would drop the fader down or mute the track between long sections like that.
Unless you have a noisy recording, I don't see why you don't just leave the faders up. Don't look for a solution to a problem that isn't there.

Chibi Nappa said:
Unless you have a noisy recording, I don't see why you don't just leave the faders up. Don't look for a solution to a problem that isn't there.

If the track is not being used take advantage of all possible siliencing and muting. Things you can't hear can build up to be a big problem later.

chadsxe said:
Things you can't hear can build up to be a big problem later.
And then you can hear it, and then it's a problem and you fix it.

If you can't hear it, it doesn't matter that the potential is there for it to become a problem. It may combine with other noise and cause trouble, it may not. I stand by if you can't hear it, it isn't a problem. I just don't go trying to fix stuff that isn't doing anything to hurt my mix.