Question about electronic drum pads

raindrops

I will be looking at some point at expanding my acoustic drum kit with electronic drum pads. I need them to be MIDI, no drum module or anything with it or stand. How much roughly do these cost. I am completely new to electronic drums.

Also how much do those clip on contact mic MIDI triggers cost, i figure they would be quite useful for various things, like MIDI lighting sync, or just additional sounds playing when certain drum are hit.

Ta

Nick

I was a little confused by your post. You mention you want MIDI pads but no module???

Electroncs pads are simply "dumb triggers" meaning they do not generate sound. They transmit a "signal" to a module (normally through a 1/4" jack - standard guitar cord). The module then creates the sound which is sent to a speaker/PA system (again through a 1/4" jack - or two if you run stereo)

If you want an all-in-one unit Yamaha has a DD20 (I think that's the model) which has 7 pads and on board sounds. A better unit is the Roland RD20 (again I think that's the model number) which has 8 triggers and on-board sounds. Both units have MIDI in and out. They also have a mono analog out to run to an amp.

If you want individual pads (like the Roland PD7 etc) you will need a module. In my opinion, the Alesis modules provide the best sounds right out of the box. As far as pads - Roland, Yamaha, Pintech and Hart all make good pads. Make sure the pads you get can communicate with the module you get.

The Hart clip on triggers cost about $20-25 each for the snares/toms and a little more for the kick (I haven't priced other triggers). Again these triggers are connected to a module via a guitar cord.

Hope this helps. Good luck!

raindrops said:
I will be looking at some point at expanding my acoustic drum kit with electronic drum pads. I need them to be MIDI, no drum module or anything with it or stand. How much roughly do these cost. I am completely new to electronic drums.