question about aux send & returns

DrJones

MG32/14fx Yamaha mixing console, mono system (so you know what i'm working with).

Aux 1-2

Aux 1---> input FX processor out ---> L return 1 (mono)

Aux 2 same as above (of course send-return "2")

Aux 3-4 there are sends but no returns. How do you make that signal chain back to these Aux.

I am new to this type of signal routing so thank you for your help.

the specs for that mixer say there are 6 sends but only 2 returns. looks like you're going to have to patch them back to mixer channels.

So your saying?

Aux 3 ---> input FX processor out --> channel 4 input.

Activate channel 4 Slide fader to 0 and use Aux 3 on on any channel you wish to add FX on?

I feel stupid asking this question but I dont understand how the processed signal gets back to the aux channel w/ no returns

Thanks

just treat the signal from the fx processor as if it were another instrument.

aux send 3 -> fx in 1 / fx out 1 -> open channel 1
aux send 4 - fx in 2 /fx out 2 -> open channel 2

I hate it when that happens.....

My Mackie has 6 sends, but only 4 returns. Luckily, I have enough channels to bring the last two back in via a pair of faders.

I cant wait to be able to afford a mixer that gives me as many returns as sends....

if you are using aux 1+2 for FX make shure that they are assigned to post fader. Just thought I'd add that

The aux sends are just outputs. The aux ins are just inputs. Other than the name, they aren't related. One reason to have more sends than returns is, during live use, you would use some of the auxes for monitor mix sends. Sometimes, it's preferable to have the effects return on a channel. That way you can EQ the effect and send that effect into another one or to the monitors.

petermiller said:
if you are using aux 1+2 for FX make shure that they are assigned to post fader. Just thought I'd add that
You need a break from the studio.
Your getting shure and sure mixed up. Time for a holiday :D ;)