Quantizing Drum Tracks and Fattening Them Up

Spillenger

If there's a thread on this already, I missed it. Sorry if I've duplicated anything.

I'm starting to record a basic electric blues shuffle. I use Presonus Studio One 2 Producer and an Axiom Pro keyboard.

I don't know if it's best to record the drums first, but that's what I did. I used one of the virtual instrument drum kits that came with Studio One. My first track was a high hat and snare. I imported a version of the song that I wanted to imitate and played the drum part on the Axiom against that. When I was done, I realized I probably should have recorded each individual drum separately, but I decided to work with what I had.

Here are my questions:

1. Not being a drummer, my tempo was slightly off at times. What I was doing sounded great against the song I imported, but when I soloed the track, I could hear the occasional misses. I know that I can quantize the midi to make it “perfect,” but I’m not sure I want “perfect.” Doesn’t that make the drums sound a bit more robotic than a real person would sound? But say I do want to quantize, what would I set the unit as — 1/16th or 1/8th? My snare is hitting on the 2 and 4 of every bar. The high hat is — not sure how to describe it musically, but think ba-NA-na SPLIT, ba-NA-na SPLIT, where the SPLIT hits on the 2 and 4 with the snare. I’ve tried selecting the whole track and quantizing to 1/16th, and it doesn’t regularize everything.

2. When I play back the snare/ high hat track I recorded, it sounds sharp but thin and metallic. It cuts through, but it’s not full enough. Not enough “thud.” I think what I need to apply is a little reverb and some compression. Is there a primer on this that would explain how to use compression to make a snare drum sound fuller, rounder and fatter?

Finally, is there a good general intro to recording midi drum parts on a DAW. I’m kind of making it up as I go along, and it would be great to save myself some time.

Thanks,
PS