Punchy/Powerful Drum Recording Help Needed

Capt. Snazzy

Please post suggestions for deadening room accoustics (I'm recording drums in a stinkin' garage and would really like the finished product to not sound like I'm recording in a
"Stinkin' Garage".
I have quite a few good mics condenser and dynamic but need help with drum/mic choice, mic placement, accoustic damping eq settings, gating. As you can see, I'm new to recording drums, I usually use an sr-16 and D-4 or the sounds on my sound canvas keyboard.But I'm now working on a CD for a punk band i play in, including my brother as drummer.
We (actually just the drummer) don't want to use sequenced drum parts so we can get more dynamic energy from the drums.
I'll be recording a Pearl-Forum set with two zildjan crash's if it matters. Please Post Lots.......
Thanks a bundle!!..... -Aaron

Try hanging blankets from the ceiling around his kit I had the same problem in a club once and we bought one of those thick furniture pads from U-Haul and hung it behind me (covering a mirrored wall) it helped with the mics bleeding and my monitors feeding back too!

see 5 threads down

check out the encyclopedia i just sent to ffmada...its about four or five threads down on this catagory page.
hitman.

I would suggest building a little "cage" for the drums out of plywood sheets (or make gobos). Place them non parallel to each other of course, and treat them with a few sound absorbers and/or diffusers as needed (little foam pieces). Then you can move these "walls" around to get the sound that you want. If a tight punchy sound is what you're looking for, you need your "walls" to be as close to the drum kit as possible.

A concrete floor is usually OK if you put a thin piece of carpet over it. You may need to hang blankets from the ceiling directly over the kit, although treating with acoustic foam is better.