pt rant

tc4b

Yeah I been drinkin, SO!?
I've been using PT for about 10 years, and I love it. I love my 001. Only now I've been left in the dust by Digidesign, because the newest version of pt I can use with the 001 is 6.4, and the OLDEST version that works with Vista is 7.4. So in order to upgrade toi the processor I want (pentium core 2 duo) I am stuck hacking this freaking Dell until it accepts XP as it's personal savior, er, oprating system, finding drivers for the chipset and all that crap, and believe me it's not easy or quick.

At first I figured hey, I'm using 10 year old gear, so yeah it's going to go obsolete. But today I had a LOT of time to think, and fuck that. I should be able to upgrade my software. And I'd be perfectly willing to PAY for that upgrade, in order to use my 001 with Vista and save myself the headache. I just feel like Digi is giving the finger to its 001 users, which were pretty early adopters of their home setup.

Doing my research today, I find that there are a LOT of us.

I know I will need to do a software AND hardware upgrade costing about 1000 dollars to enter the 64-bit world (at my level of quality and expertise, make fun if you want) but it most definitely will not be with Digidesign products. I have no faith whatsoever they'll support whatever I buy for an appreciable amount of time. I'm going to buy a piece of hardware that works with a number of DAW's, including reaper, from a company that has a history of legacy support.