Protools 003 or Mackie Onyx 1640i for recording and teaching?

mandrum

Which of these setups would be best for the dual purpose of A, Quality sound recording and, B, Teaching students about recording and engineering. I believe both methods are used within pro studios, however, which method would give students the most insight. I believe both systems are pro tools and cubase compatible, so there does not seem to be an issue with software, however I would have thought the quality of recording would be to a very similar standard from both and that the Mackie set up would give students knowledge of in the box recording and experience of using a proper analogue style mixer. Can anyone clarify that I am correct in saying this, or would the digidesign 003 setup come with added benefits which I have not yet highlighted. Many Thanks.

I am a student myself and I own the 003 Factory Rack.

To be honest it was very easy to pick up even with limited prior knowledge of ProTools and it has been really useful for me. I don't know a lot about the other hardware you mentioned but I have had no worries with the quality of the recording, I have plenty of inputs for recording a large drum kit and it was easy to set up even for a novice.

Just thought I would give you my perspective on the 003.

For being roughly the same price, you get 16 mic pre's and 16x16 firewire interface. 6 aux's means you can send every musician their own mix.. I know the rack003 gives you 4 pres and 4 line-in's, and IDK what the routing capabilities are. You're limited to 4 mics tho unless you get some outboard pre's, you might want more inputs to mis up a drumkit or a full band or whatever.

It's HUGELY more flexible, and you can use it with any daw you want. Cubase, reaper, logic, garage band, anything. Except protools of course... I hate that protools and digi isolate themselves from the rest of the world, and that their hardware costs so much for what you get, I'm definitely not a PT fan..