Project/home studio from scratch

peteuk90

Hi there,

I am building a studio in my back garden!! It is basically 2 rooms. A live room and a mixing room. My real concern is in the mixing room. I have read the forums and understand that hearing the mix properly is VERY important. I have recorded stuff in my bedroom and thought it sounded great, as soon as I got in my car it sounded flawed to say the least... acoustics, bass traps etc

Getting back to my studio, the mixing room is very small. probably 3 metres width by 2 metres depth. (It has to be because of the building. How would you control the sound???

I have no in depth knowledge of bass traps and reflections etc... could some give me "lay mans" tips for this please. The guys who know blind me with science, I totally understand they have studied it and seriously applaud them it's just I am after guidlines and then I will try my trial and error way.

Sorry for you guys who are in the know. I really am in awe of you. (please be gentle with me!!)

peteuk90 said:
Getting back to my studio, the mixing room is very small. probably 3 metres width by 2 metres depth. (It has to be because of the building. How would you control the sound???

Sorry for you guys who are in the know. I really am in awe of you. (please be gentle with me!!)

That's just way too small. Is this an existing building? If so, knock down the wall between the rooms. If not, redesign it.

Post a sketch of the floorplan.

What's your budget? What are you actually wanting to know? Sound insulation? Acoustics? I'm building something very similar in size, and I've read a lot about it, so i could try and help.

mshilarious said:
That's just way too small. Is this an existing building? If so, knock down the wall between the rooms. If not, redesign it.

Post a sketch of the floorplan.
If the room is made completely dead, is it still too small?