programming drums with buttons

rxQueen

hi. i've always been programming my drum tracks with Fruity loops and my mouse. i figured it's really time consuming and my creativity generally gets limited. is there a program/machine whatever out there that I can record drums by pressing buttons or hitting on something? so like snares for one button, cymbal for another, hi hats for another, kick drums for another button, etc. it'll be great if i can assign each drum to keys on the keyboard

thanks

Yep, a midi controller, midi capable drumset, or a midi keyboard/drum machine is what you need. Midi sends signals and trigger samples on your pc. It can pretty much trigger any sample as long as you set it to in the midi output.

I will let other chime in here on this tho, because I am just getting into midi myself.

The Alesis D4 and DM5 units (drum soundsources with External Trigger Inputs and a Trigger to MIDI Interface) seem about the cheapest way to get Percussion parts played into the Computer.

If you have one of these units, along with a MIDI Interface to connect MIDI to the PC, then you can either make your own Electronic Pads or buy them ( at this point, you can build a brand new electronic drum for about $20 or so - the actual Triggering Element is a Piezo Disc (an Electronic Buzzer/Doorbell) that can be purchased for under $3 depending upon the size that you buy.

So, an electric Drum pad that sells for $150 actually has about $6 worth of electronic parts in it - the Piezo Element and the Jack - and these can turn anything, and I do mean anything, into an electric drum.

You can build a complete "Rack" 5-piece electric set for about $250 (using PVC pipe to build the rack, and including electric cymbals - made from Frisbee's with a piezo disc glued underneath!)

Tim

Mr. Brown. where have you been all my life?! I'm totally fixed on the idea of triggering samples and crap live and could never ditch out the cake for the hitech pads and midi brains.