problems with ewx 24/96 card

sipi1910

i installed this yesterday and i cant get any sounds coming out.im new at pc recording,is there anything else im supposed to do?

thanks,
wayne

Terratec EWX 24/96

G'Day Wayne,

I have an EWX 24/96 and I can get lots of sounds from mine.:) Some points that may be relevant:

1) Are you aware that the EWX doesn't have a sound chip built into it? If you are using a sequencer you'll need a software synth to produce sounds.

2) If you are playing CDs, you'll need to go into the EWX control panel and choose External Clock Sync, otherwise - no sound.

3) Ensure there are no IRQ conflicts. This is the cause of a great many audiocard probs. Move the EWX to a slot as far from the video card as possible.

Erm, can't think of any more right now, but gives those a burl first then report back if it doesn't help.

What software are you using with the card?

--
BluesMeister

thanks for replying bluesmeister.im trying to use it with sonar 2.0 xl. when i did a hardware check it says that it is working properly but when i did a sound check it sys my card is not capable of making sounds.im goiing right now to try your suggestions.ill let you know how it turns out.

thanks,
wayne

ok bluesmiester, i did what you said and now i can hear hiss from my speakers (i couldnt even get that much before ) but when i press play in sonar it doesn't do anything.i did another hardware test and it still says my sound hardware cannot play sounds.any more suggestions?

thanks,
wayne

OK Wayne, let's not panic here, the EWX is a fine soundcard and will produce some very nice noises for you.

First point I have to make is that I'm a HomeStudio 2002 user. I'm not familiar with the hardware test you mention in SONAR. Are you refering to the Profile Hardware button in Options? If so, then I do have that in HS2002 :)