Pro Tools Free (yup! it Bites)

shredfit

Guys and Gals, Pro Tools free IS the most suck @ss program i've ever downloaded... I cannot see the reason digidesign even has the crap on their site...

I'm a Pro Tools user... I love it... but after reading some posts, people seem to think that the pro tools software is like pro tools free... (it looks like it) but that is about it.

Don't judge Pro Tools on that PT free crap

Shred

Hmmmmmmmmmm

It works fine for me. Maybe your using the Windows version. I've heard that doesn't run well.

Exactly what does PT do that you can't do with PTF, besides the obvious like track count and time code?

I gotta chime in here, tried it , hated it (on pc). The audio quality sucked, and that was the least of my worries. Bah ..a big BAH on that crap.

JAKE

Back in the late 80's, when I paid approximately $800 for my 4-track Tascam Porta Two, I would never have guessed that some day I would be able to get a free 8-track digital recorder... with insane visual editing capabilities... and somewhat prisitine audio quality...

Now we all just whine our asses off because the thing that someone gave us FOR FREE doesn't work like something we could buy for a lot more money.

Just goes to show how much we take the world of things for granted now.

</soapbox>

I have to totally agree with Shredfit. I tried PTF quite awhile ago, and not only did the program crash constantly, but from the instant I installed it until I removed it my system (then running Win98) also became buggy and crash prone.

I like the idea of working demos, but if PTF is an indicator of the programming skills that went into Pro Tools, I'll just stick with Cakewalk products.

Re: Hmmmmmmmmmm

M.Brane said:
It works fine for me. Maybe your using the Windows version. I've heard that doesn't run well.

Exactly what does PT do that you can't do with PTF, besides the obvious like track count and time code?