PreSonus Blue Tube....

Top20Burnout

Mine just arrived a couple days ago.

Does anybody else use/like this thing? So far, I'm a little disappointed at the amount of hiss I'm getting on my recordings. But then I'm still learning all the curves. I'm using it as an in to a Tascam US-224, with an SM57 and another mic that I'm too embarrassed to name 8).

So, is it normal for pre's like this to hiss at ya so much? I've only used the amps in my old Mackie (R.I.P.) for recording, so I'm not at all familiar with these stand-alone amps. I just bought it because the specs looked good and it was real purty.

Maybe I'm turning the gain or drive up too high.

Reactions: XLR
Russian tubes are the cause. Change the tube to a 12au7 or find an old Mullard or something. I did it and it fully eliminated the hiss I used to have.

you could also turn down the tube drive.

Darrin likes his... I don't like mine. (except for use as a distortion pedal--where I feel that it excels).

I use it rarely and am glad that I don't have to rely on it... any more. As a pre, it works, but probably a dmp3 would be better in that price range. Never changed the tube, probably never will.

-Jett

Hey, thanks a lot for the feedback.

I've finally had a few hours to experiment today, and found a combination I can live with. I was definitely driving the input too hard and high. Also, changing to the balanced xlr output helped a LOT. It's as clean now as any tape I've ever used, and Cool Edit's noise reduction takes care of the rest.

I no longer consider it a waste of money. Actually, it sounds pretty good!