Preamp for SM7B

Probably in that budget your pre isn't going to add much. If you get into a higher end pre then it might do something for the sound. But for that money I would probably spend less and just get something that will boost the sound cleanly without adding color. But in the budget range I think Joe Meek makes some good stuff, there are others - you should ask Moresound and Jimmy, they gots the answers... Myself I use a $180 TPS II tube amp for my SM7B.

Hmm... The ISA One has only 60db of gain. Not sure that would be my choice, though I have not played with one myself. I have no experience with the Eureka, so not going to be helpful there. I went straight to a VintechX73i, but that is way out of budget.

Moresound often suggests the GAP Pre73. It is around $350, and has 80db of gain. This is what you want for your SM7b. 1073 clones are probably your best bet for the mic.

Actually, I'm going to order one myself. I need a new toy anyway. :)

I have a variant of the GAP Pre73--an off, off brand with the same circuitry. It is without a doubt my go-to pre for my SM7b (other mics as well--I have 4 of them, so I can keep a few different mics patched into 'em).

"Only 60dB of gain."

How much horsepower does it take to get a decent level out of an SM7B?

If you look at the owners manual for the Focusrite it actually allows for an additional 20dB of gain by using the base gain range set at high (30-60dB) and adding additional gain through the trim.

I love my ISA one very clean sound and a killer DI for your bass all in one Never had a problem with adequate gain as stated before it has like 4 gain level stages plus a gain trim knob.