Preamp Decision

Buttcheex8

Hey I'm new here. I've been playing guitar for several years, and now I'm looking to get some recording of decent quality at home on my computer. After doing some research I think i'm set on th M-audio Audiophile 2496 with Shure sm57 as the mic in front of my tube amp (for hard rock, blues, jazz, clean, whatever)

I realize I need a preamp and I'm wondering what the differences are between the DMP3 and the audio buddy are. Also, this may be a dumb question, but would I need a mixer to get good tone around this? Recommendations in any area would be greatly appreciated and help me make a decision please..and all in all i'd like to keep this in a fairly small budget. Thanks!

I actually prefer the preamps on my Behringer UB802 mixer (price $79) to the audio buddy ($80). The Behringer sounds warmer to my ears. I don't know anyting about the DMP3, but from what I read on these forums it's a good preamp for the money.

I have the Audio Buddy, and (despite the name, which I dislike :) )it's a great little product. It has tons of gain, and it's very clean to my ears. Certainly will do the job well in front of an amp, like you plan...

You don't need a mixer--I think, actually, it would just confuse the issue, and might introduce more noise and confusing to the signal chain. The SM57 (a great, solid choice, by the way) and the 24/96 will give you a nearly perfect image of your sound--and a small, clean powerful preamp like the "Buddy" will fit in there nicely.

The "good tone" should come from your guitar, and the amp, and how you play. Aim for getting a good sound before it goes into the computer, and getting that sound as cleanly and clearly as possible. Simple is the way to go--you can't go wrong...

Chris

i just picked up a presonus blue tube.have not had a chance to try it yet.gonna try today.i will let ya know what it sounds like.