Pre-amp emulation for vocal recordings

Kylotan

I intend to record some vocals in the near future - some in a pop/rock style, some in the aggressive heavy metal styles, for what it's worth. I have a Samson USB condenser microphone, which though not exactly top of the line, seems to work ok and has a fairly flat response. I have no experience of how studios record vocals, but have read plenty about it.

Reading advice from the pros, they talk a lot about the qualities of different microphones and also pre-amps. Some will say that you can't get a good recording without a good pre-amp. Yet while I appreciate the sentiment behind this statement, the fact is that when you record digitally, pre-amp or not, you just get a stream of numbers which represent your waveform, and that no matter what the hardware did to transform the audio source into those numbers, it can theoretically be replicated by software that does the same job. You might not get precisely the same quality, due to limitations of working in digital domain, but the essential effect can still be produced, just as digital compressors or equalisers can do a similar job to their analogue counterparts.

With that in mind, are there any VSTs, or combinations of them, that can go some way to taking a plain recording, and making them sound like they've gone through a decent pre-amp, whatever that means? Given that the talk is often of 'good' pre-amps rather than specific ones for a given task, I would assume they have certain features in common, which I would like to be able to experiment with. If anybody has any experience in this area, I'd love to hear it.