Pop Rock/Punk song... mixing advice?

keevhren

Pop Rock/Punk song... updated mixes... bass help!

Just finished up a first mix of this local band I tracked a week ago. Thoughts? In most everything I've done thus far I feel like drums never cut through enough after mastering so I've tried to keep them as loud without killing the mix as possible... any suggestions on my attempt at it? What about the rest of the song? Any help would be much appreciated!

Last edited:
If I knew myself how to mix a drum kit I'd say something constructive and helpful. However, on my monitors the drums sound clear. I'm really only saying this because I can distinctly hear your bass drum and its not killing everything else, unlike my mixes which are one extreme or another. Sorry, I'm a newb and completely useless, lol.

But yeah, the drums sound good to me and seem to blend fine with the mix. So rest easy, the average dummy (like me) will think it's great. ;)

Hey, at least my reply will bump your post to the top, where someone who knows what they're doing will see it. :laughings:

The snare seems sample replaced. Every hit sounds exactly the same and robotic. That's cool if you need or want to replace it, but get a more human feel out of it. The vocals are too roomy. That long decay reverb doesn't mesh well with the style of music. The kick and bass are kind of mushy and muddy. More beater attack and more bass attack and midrange will help both pieces stand out more. This type of music needs to be tight and the sounds need to be snappy. Think NOFX.

Totally agree with Greg. To much verb. It would sound much more in-your-face without all the reverb on everything. What are you using to replace the snare, or is this a v-drum kit? I also think the couple guitar leads you have are a little too tinny and could stand to come up in the mix.

On another note... 4 minutes is a little long for a punk song, right? ;)