Please Help!

guitargirl7

Before anyone reads this, please be aware that I am new to the home recording world, and am most likely doing something wrong for this error to be constantly happening to me.

Let’s say I go and record vocals for the first verse and chorus to a song. I stop recording for the day, give my voice a break, and come in for the second verse the next day. I pick off where I left off, enabling the track, recording the vocal, pressing stop when I’m finished. I go to play the vocal back, and I hear an extremely loud screeching noise (almost exactly like the sound a two way walkie-talkie makes after you click the button to say something) that repeats constantly throughout what I just recorded. The result is that I can barely hear bits and pieces of the vocal, while the separate guitar recording is jumbled in the mix. No matter how many times I try to re-record the vocal, it comes out repeating this same cycle over and over again. I'm starting to fear that this could be damaging my recording gear and software. My question is why is this happening to me, and how can I fix the issue?

The product I am using is avid vocal studio with pro tools.

I can’t promise everyone is going to understand what I am explaining, so if anyone would like any further clarification on the problem, please let me know!

Additional NEW info:
I found a more accurate description to my problem on another online forum that gave this Link: http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=support.faq&ID=12ed73bcd38f4909f28acfeadc811cf2
apparently what I am experiencing is "white noise, distortion, and or static". I do not know how to decipher the instructions on this link, so maybe someone here will understand it more than I do!

Thank you!

Last edited:
probably a bit more info will help folk here get your answer.