PLEASE HELP! What should i do with this vocal?

artdamage

hey all. if you could read the following post in its entirety and let me know what i should do i'd be very very thankful.

i've been recording and writing my first full-length record for the last three months, and today i've been stumped by this road block. the vocal part attached below sounds great, (and it's distorted on purpose, mind you) but during and more notably, after each phrase in the vocal line one can hear a wave of unwanted high frequency distortion. i have not been able to get rid of it without sacrificing EQ.

i'm thinking i should use noise removal of some sort. i also do not want to change anything about the process of recording it, i have a deadline.

here's what i'm using.

-dell laptop
-alesis multimix 8 usb 2.0 mixer
-m-audio black box guitar processor for the vocals
-a quality studio mic

i'm using MixCraft to mix and record. i DO NOT want to apply the distortion in studio. it's impossible to get this exact tonality and distortion with MixCraft, believe me i've tried.

if anyone has effects in mind I highly prefer VST's, they work well in MixCraft. the vocal is attached at below.

any / all help is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• Rig Vocal.mp3
    272.7 KB · Views: 59
...i have not been able to get rid of it without sacrificing EQ...

Try an expander, destructive manual editing, motorized faders, volume envelopes, or a noise reduction plug. It's not that complicated to dip the volume between vocal lines.

You should probably learn more about recording before taking on a major project. But on the other hand, this is one way to learn things.

Try an expander, destructive manual editing, motorized faders, volume envelopes, or a noise reduction plug. It's not that complicated to dip the volume between vocal lines.

You should probably learn more about recording before taking on a major project. But on the other hand, this is one way to learn things.