please help PRO TOOLS & M AUDIO PROJECT MIX QUESTION

tsqair

HELLO TO ALL, I AM NEW TO THIS RECORDING PLATFORM,MY QUESTION IS,I HAVE A SIGNAL GOING INTO MY PROJECT MIX BUT I CAN NOT GET IT TO SHOW UP ON THE CHANNEL STRIP IN PROTOOLS ,I GET A POP UP THAT SAY'S " the track could not be record- enabled because it doesnt have both an active imput and active output. I ASSIGNED AN IMPUT AND OUT PUT TO THE CHANNEL ,BUT I THINK I'M MISSING SOMETHING HERE.(obviously i'm missing something), I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP FROM YOU ,THANX....................TOMMY

Ok,
First things first; Turn off capslock. :p

Pro tools is probably letting you pick ins and outs that used to be there. This happens if the session was last saved whilst using a different interface.
Your ins and outs will show as dark grey in italics and in the list they'll say 'path n/a' beside them.

To fix, open Pro Tools
Go to Setup -> I/O

Click the input tab then click default near the bottom left.
Do the same for the output tab.

Click OK.

If it gives you an error about conflicting names then

Click the input tab.
Select all inputs under 'name'
Delete them
Click default
Do the same for the output tab.

Click OK.

Now you can assign inputs and outputs properly.

thank you for your time and concern,I did as you recomended,however #1 when i try to click default in the imput selection of the I/O i can not because that tab is very shaded, I could select the default tab in the output selection, which I did do...................
#2 also the project mix is talking to protools because the faders and transport work together
#3 your right when i click on the channel strip imputs the options (built in mic. etc. do show path n/a..
any idea's..............................happy thanksgiving to you and to all

Last edited:
quick follow up