Please help on installing simple gear - noob here

joms

Hi,

I'm just doing this for our videoke sessions so I want to know how to install a TC-Helicon item to my mixer. My mixer is a Allen & Heath Zed-10fx. How do I use the TC-Helicon so that it can accommodate both mics? Note that I have no TC-Helicon model yet in mind since Ive been asking in another thread what TC-Helicon I should buy for my karaoke needs.

This thread is mainly on how to install it (once I know the model) with my current gear. For now 2x mics goes in the M1 and M2 and the "Main mix out" on the upper right goes to a QSC K10 speaker.

For reference, here is a pic of the Zed10FX.

ZED_10_FX_Front.jpg

Attachments

• ZED10TOP.jpg
    ZED10TOP.jpg
    862.9 KB · Views: 42
Last edited:
Just so we understand the problem...

You use two microphones, and you want to use the effects of what is basically/probably a mono/single input effects processor (the TC Helicon device - to be decided) across BOTH microphones at the same time?

And this all goes into your computer from the mixer?

you got everything right except for the going into the computer part. It all goes to a QSC K10 active speaker.

By the way, is there a TC-helicon that is stereo? if not what should I do?

I may be wrong/may be missing the point but if you want to use the TC-helion just for reverb/delay effects than it's fairly easy. If you want to use it for the compression/autotune/EQ (depending on model) across both mics then there would probably be a problem.

To use it just for reverbs/delays, even in mono, you could plug the "FX out" from the zed10 into the input of the TC-helion and the output of the TC-helion into either one of stereo channels ("ST1" or "ST2"). You then plug the mics into individual channels on the zed10 and use the "FX" send pot on the individual channels to send a part of the signal to the TC-helion to add reverb/delay to it and whichever stereo track you've plugged the TC-helion into becomes you overall FX fader