please help me with my mixing dilemma....how do YOU mix?

freakkguitarist

so ive been recording full time for about 5-6 years now, and im still never fully happy with most of my mixes, i can get one song to sound great, but it gets lost as i try and make the other songs sound great too. i used to consolidate my tracks and throw all the songs into the same session, so all the tracks are mixed equally, ive also tried just copying and pasting setting which takes forever...especially switching back and forth in logic...my sessions are pretty big and it takes 2 minutes per switch. so how do you guys mix? start from scratch on each song? im really curious cuz mixing is the one thing ive never watched anyone do, never sat in on a mix session, and never really asked about it.

i do as much as i can across the board, and when the basic elements are about where i want them i start to work individually.

how do I mix? with clothes on :D

If I'm feeling bold, I might take my shoes off.

on a serious note, if you don't find what you're looking for in the sticky, you can come back here and ask. I can throw a few pointers of my own.

so how do you guys mix? start from scratch on each song?
Absolutely. Songs are like women; they all have different personalities and require different care. Songs and women are also alike in that 90% of the answer lies in simply listening to them.

First, if you are doing the whole process yourself, from recording on through, then step #1 should be that you get an idea in your head *before you even start recording* of what you imagine you want to song to sound like when you're done. This includes instrument tones, instrument arrangements, panning, etc. Then you start building that idea right from the start, right from the recording stage. Don't just slap some tracks down that sound "k3wl" and hope or expect that you can just stick them together in the mix and have them work; plan ahead.