Please help me choose a beginner keyboard for my studio.

dmc777

What's going on guys. Not much of piano player but I have taken lessons and can play a little bit. Right now all I have is a little Maudio Oxygen midi board with around 28 keys lol. What I'm looking for is a beginner keyboard that can
1.) help me learn to play keys
2.) hook up to my cpu "Ibook G4" or recording interface "Maudio FW1814" and basically use as a midi controller for my software interfaces such a synths and pianos. I don't want to spend over 150.00. What do you guys think about these 2? Will they do what I need them to do? Thanks in advance guys!

http://keyboards-midi.musiciansfriend.com/product/Casio-CTK4000-61-Key-Portable-Keyboard?sku=500587

http://keyboards-midi.musiciansfrie...PT310-Electronic-Portable-Keyboard?sku=705625

DMC, I'm the king of cheapo keyboards. I'm a guitarist who spent some hours playing every cheap keyboard I could find--to use for some simple backing parts in my home studio--and I finally found one with good performance for the price:

http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-PSR-E413-61-Key-Digital-Keyboard/dp/B0018SAKYY/ref=pd_cp_MI_0

Some (not all) of the sounds are surprisingly good, and the pitch-bend wheel and arpegiator set it apart from anything in its class. Paid about $200 out the door (optional power supply inc.) from my local shop--a bit over your price limit, but worth it if you can manage. It definitely won't compete with more serious boards, of course, but it's a solid beginner board for folks like me. If you're interested, search online for some lengthy reviews in Keyboard mag and elsewhere.

I second jeffree's suggestion, insofar as I think a Yamaha or Casio keyboard like that one is your best bet. I think you should get:

Stand-alone capability- not just a MIDI keyboard, but one that can produce several dozen or hundreds of sounds;

MIDI connectivity;

Portability- battery powered when desired, so you can play anywhere;