Please help - Firestudio Project question/ advice

RichyRich

Hey guys I went to maybe buy a tascam 2488 to do some recording. I've been playing drums for 20+ years and guitar 15 or so years. I wanted to just lay down tracks but the studio gets to costly quickly. The guy at the Guitar center talked me out of the the tascam for recording and talked me in to getting the Firestudio Project, etc. He sold me pretty good.

Problem is that I am recording studio illiterate, bigtime, w/ regard to the engineering aspect... I only know how to play.
Reading the manual it may as well been in Japanese.

Whats the best advice to help me get started? I'm reading different posts here and I am oblivious. I also have limited computer knowledge. I can return this thing within two weeks if I'm not happy w/ it he said. Was this a bad investment?

Please help I am starting from square one.

Well I can say that a stand alone digital unit will be very complicated too.
You're going to have to do a lot of reading any way you go about it. You're going to have to just set down and fuddle through it for a while.
You're going to have some frustrating times getting things set up and learning how to use it. Once again it is going to be that way on any system you go with. Get your self familiar with the presonus web site and it's help section. the manufactures site can be a big help for people with no expieriance.

Once you start to get an incling you will be able to ask specific questions of people here and get some help that way. You are going to have to get a grasp of the lingo and basics before it all starts coming together for you.

You can do it. Everyone starts from scratch at some point. Don't let the computer scare you. It won't blow up if you hit the wrong key;)
If something stops working chances are you need to undo the last thing you did:D

I'd keep the fire studio providing you have a decent computer.

F.S.

Freudian Slip's advice is good.