Please critique this song

scottn5388

Hello All,

This is an older song that my band and I just re-recorded. It was recorded in my small basement "studio" using SONAR. The song is called "Start".

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=3339&alid=-1

I would appreciate any feedback, both on the song and on the mixing. Any suggestions? Things I should change? I am still a newbie at all this and I would appreciate any comments you're willing to throw at me.

Thanks A Lot,
Scott

Hi Scott,

I listened to the song and I think there is some good structural things to how the song moves through its parts. It's a decent pop progression.

I noticed you having some trouble in spots with the lyrics where there seemed to be too many words and not enough space and time to sing them fluidly. You might want to think about re-writing some of the lines so that it flows a bit better. You voice is a good one for the style of music and sounded nice when you did the doubles and harmonies.

Mix-wise, I was having having trouble hearing the drums clearly in the mix. They seem to get buried in the heavier parts.

The guitar levels also seemed a little to loud when the chorus kicked in. They should be out front as you intended but maybe cut their level back a smidge.

Also a few little timing mistakes here and there that might get a little objectionable after a few listens. I am not sure about that though.

Cheers! :)

First listen: Vocals sound a little unsure. Sing it like you mean it. Your voice isn't bad, overall. Sounds like you're afraid to let go.

Nice bass progression, and I like the guitar riffs, but they sound -- on my setup -- very bright and indistinct in a way I can't describe. Do you have reverb or something on them? They kind of melt all together or something.

Nice harmonies vocally on the solos. If only the lead part was a little more confident. The vocal tone itself is nice.