Please critique my drum sound!

badgerer

Hi there,

http://www.nowhereradio.com/tomewer/singles - the track called "Drums".

This is the drum sound I've got at the moment.

What I'm thinking: don't know what the hell is going on with the snare! It sounds more like a tom, and I don't really know why. I think the toms sound pretty good? Cymbals ok... as are the hi hats i think. Kick drum might need a bit more boom? At the moment it's got no head, with a pillow inside, should I try and have less surface contact with the pillow for a more airy sound?

I've got two Sm-57s - one above and to the right of my right shoulder, the other about 3 inches off the snare; and a D112 on the kick.

Thanks in advice for your help, I'm new to this as you might've guessed!

- Tom

P.S. yeah i know I'm not that good, I've only been playing 6 months self taught so no comments on playing ability please! :P:D

Your snare needs to be re-tuned for sure. You'll get a much better result if you use a pair of condensers for overheads. :D
The d112 should be fine for the kick (use one myself as well). Your kick needs te be tuned and sounds to "dead", The pillow should only toch a small part of the head. Try a resonance head with a hole on the back side and toy around with the mic (inside, oustide, close to batter, away from batter, ...)
you'll find a lot of tuning guides on the internet, if you search in google for example

what preamps/mixer do you use ? what soundcard ? these two are very crucial in your chain.
My drums sounded the same like yours until i bought an 8input soundcard with a descent A/D converter

greetz

Drum sound bigot in effect

Sounds like ass.:D

First thing to tackle is your kit:

I agree about the snare tuning. Crank them heads down tight, and loosen the strainer. What kind of snare?

I never liked kickdrums without the resonant head on.