Peak limiting on drum transients

PhiloBeddoe

I read an article in the latest Recording magazine wherein the author suggests recording drums to tape to take advantage of tape compression. He then transfers the drums to a DAW and finishes the mix.

I'm a much better musician than engineer, but it seems like there is merit in this. I remember recording to tape years ago and that the dynamics seemed like less of a problem than in a PC based system. I assume this is because the dynamic range of a digital system is so much larger.

When you look at a waveform of a drum hit there is a huge, presumably inaudible, very brief peak followed by the 'meat' of the signal.

My question is: Is there any value in getting rid of these with a look ahead limiter at the track level rather than on the overall mix?

BTW, I record rock music. I'm not after a triggered sound like you'd hear in metal, but something controlled.

Many thanks

PhiloBeddoe said:
My question is: Is there any value in getting rid of these with a look ahead limiter at the track level rather than on the overall mix?
The short answer is yes. There are also tape emulation plugins like Magneto that will do this.

I use pro tools & the standard compression is what I use to get my results. I don't use any sort of look ahead untill mix down & that's across a whole mix (if it needs it)

I'm about to start utilising an analog stage in my recording to make use of the "analog tape compression". There in I'll no doubt find a whole new learning curve, because up till now I've been a "digi-kid"

up till now I use standard compression & EQ on individual drum tracks & then I group all the drums to a stereo bus & all the cymabls & hats etc to another stereo bus, & then those 2 buses go through a "full kit" stereo bus

so by the time the kit sound hits my ears it has been well squashed (not to pumping point you understand)