PC Software

Doug

I'm new to digital recording, and I have a newbie question, what types of music software are out there?

I am thinking of buying Cubase VST/Score, but will this suffice, when I ask my friends what software they use, they usually mention two pieces. They say something like : (sorry I can't remember the names they used)

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>"I should be using blah blah and blah blah, but I can't afford it so I'm using blah blah and blah blah"<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So my question is, what genres of music software are there out there, and which is generally preferred in each area? Why do people seem to always use two?

Many thanks,

Doug

[This message has been edited by Doug (edited 12-06-1999).]

Doug, There are a lot of programs out there on the net that you can down load for free. Gold Wave and N-Tracks are just 2. One of the biggest reasons that most of us use more than 1 program is that the features of one may be easier to use than in another. No 1 program is easiest to use.

I think you mean something like this:

Audio editors
Multitrack recording software
MIDI sequencers
CD burning software
Mastering software
MP3 utilities

More than two! But what you *probably* had in mind were one each of the first two...you really need both a standalone audio editor (Sound Forge XP, GoldWave, CoolEdit, etc.) and a multitrack program (Cubase, Cakewalk, n-track, etc.)

Actually Dragon I've wondered about that same thing, having an editing program as well as the multi track recording program.

I don't have much money so I can't be too extreme, but just for my info., what kinds of things will the editing programs (i.e. Sound Forge, Cool Edit) do that the recording programs will not do?

Houdini,

The advantage of something like soundforge or wavelab, is that it's designed for working with the final (not always) 2-track stereo mix.