PC issues opinions requested HELP !

T Prior

I'll try to be short..I am not a novice at PC's or recording... I am using an older XP machine, 2 gig installed. This is a dedicated PC, no internet , nothing else...Music only

initially I was on Sonar, no issues, then I loaded up Pro Tools 8, no issues, ran for maybe 2 years..made no changes from the default set-up

Interface is an Maudio 2496 2 channel card...

Last year all of a sudden I started having stalling issues, out of synch tracks at playback, pops ,noises...squeals..etc...

I initially thought RAM..I maxed it out at 4 gig which is actually 3.2 useable... Defragged the HD, moved all the files to a USB ext drive etc..

Optimized the PC to some nice recommendations on the net...resources used are very low...Pro tools tracks run in the 20% to 30% range...
I have played with many of the Playback Engine settings to no resolve, nothing dramatic where it is sopping up all the resources. In the past I never changed any settings , record or playback...

My average project is maybe 10 tracks..with maybe one midi stereo track...in the scheme of things, these are small projects...

STILL

Tracks freeze, stall, are out of synch....latency gets ridiculous ...

I have been chasing this for a few months now and I am now of the opinion there is really something WRONG with the PC... Fine tuning the PC and Pro Tools options have only made a slight difference...

I went from having a pretty stable environment to a very unstable environment... almost overnight, tracks I recorded in Sonar pretty much won't even run anymore...recent Pro Tools projects which I started in 2012 are giving me grief...

I can easily just go out and get a MAC or a new WIN 7 machine but that won't explain whats going on...

It's time to start looking at the PC...

Thoughts ?

Last edited:
If you are running an external video and have access to integrated video or a spare I'd start there. Then I'd pop the 2496 into a different slot.