PC AV error message in Logic

glamslam

Hi all
I've just finished recording a couple of audio tracks in LAG with an Audiophile 2496 on a Pentium II with 256 MB RAM. When I playback the tracks I get the following error message:

PC AV:
System Overload.
The audio engine was not able to process all required data in time

The hard drive has been defragmented recently and there is hardly anything stored on it. The audiophile is installed properly and has no conflicts according to the device manager. It IS, however, sharing PCI slot 10 with an IRQ Holder for PCI steering. Is that OK? Does the audiophile need to be moved to another PCI slot? Could anything else be causing the problem?
THanks in advance

Have you been able to do this sort of thing w/o trouble before, or are you just now getting this system setup?

I'm no expert on this, but that PCI steering thing is nothing to worry about and you can't really control it anyway.

If you get a PC AV message, that means you're having a problem w/ your EASI driver. You may need to experiment w/ the checkbox settings under PC AV in audio>audio hardware and drivers>audio driver tab. This link should help you. It's to a specific part of Dave Bellingham's help site- the best site I've found for Logic. Unfortunately, the info. is pretty hard to find. You almost need a forum to discuss how to use the site. *Oh, shit! Forget what I just said! Looks like the FAQ is offline and it looks permanent. Damn. That was truly a great site.*

Oh well, I'll do my best:

(1)Since you've got a PII, not very fast(no offense),you should probably check "Large Disk Buffer." I'm bettin' that's the problem, so try making this one change and seein' how things go before you change anything else. With a fast CPU and hardrive, this should be unchecked.

(2)Probably should check "large process buffer" as well.