Outboard Gear? Is it necessary?

Guitar4life0000

This may sound a tad stupid, but keep in mind that I'm fairly new to this.

With all the built in plug-ins in todays software including compression, EQ, reverb, tuners, etc, is it necessary to get external signal processors, or is it just a personal preference?

Thanks!

-Steve

personal preference and religious convictions. Also there is the bling factor if you have exceptionally stupid clients

I currently do not have a compressor plug-in (let alone know of one) that I can use while recording, so I use a real one. I certainly can't give a vocalist any "comfort 'verb" with a plug-in, either.

Yeah well, my rack gear's all cheap to mid-level and I'll never part with it. Even if I may end up not printing it, and using a plug instead, I still get inspired to play what I'm hearing in my head (and hear it while I'm playing!) better by dialing real knobs.

It may not be logical, but it fits my creative workflow. Yep, I likes me some buttons and lights...

If I used a computer to record I'd definitely use plug-ins, since many are free and don't take up any space. However, that's one of the reasons I don't use a computer. I prefer physical buttons, knobs, faders and meters over a computer monitor.

For most mixing functions, I'm pretty happy with plugs.

That said - I do tend to prefer analog processing - And pulling signals of analog repro heads - And analog summing.

It may not be logical, but it fits my creative workflow. Yep, I likes me some buttons and lights...

This is written beautifully.....and I agree entirely!!...(Along with others suggesting that they want/need "real time" processing!!;)

Pluggins are great, and I use some of them (some reverbs) some of the time....but generally you can keep them and plug them up your bum...:eek:

I asked myself this question a year ago, and decided to focus all my outboard gear towards nice preamps.