Opinions on Nord Lead 3?

Just wondering if people could throw me their opinions and experiences with the Nord Lead 3. I'm just getting into synth stuff and was initially looking at some older units like the Juno 106 (per mikeh's recommendation). However, my past experience with older and/or more entry level technology is that I either a) grow out of it too quickly, or b) mostly with entry level stuff, I just get frustrated with the lack of function and flexibility, and I quit.

So....I'm looking at one heck of a first synth! Now I still want to keep with the original goal that caused mikeh to recommend the Juno. I want to work with subtractive synth, not samplers or wavetables...I don't want this massive workstation with sequencers and all of that crap. I just want a really really good subtractive synth unit. One thing I like the looks of is the NL3's buttons and knobs for stuff instead of menus....I HATE menus. Is the interface really that effective in real world use?

Lest anyone say "it's too much to start with", let me say that I work better with more powerful, complicated equipment. I get more frustrated by the hardware keeping me from doing something than by my lack of knowledge keeping me from doing it. Knowledge I can always gain, but I have to work with the hardware on hand.

All of that said...let the opinions fly!

I own the nord lead 2x and i can safely say that if you're looking for a dirty analogue synth (i was) you will hate it. that said, it's a very digital sounding synth but it very good at what it does.

sile2001 said: