Opinions on Audio Production PC Build

PermanentSmile

Long time reader first time poster. I've been home recording a little over a decade. First on 4 Track then digital. I'm putting together a PC to replace a dying laptop. It has to be powerful enough for many multiple tracks, processes, vsts etc while remaining quiet and somewhat future proof. I use a VS100 external audio interface, Sonar 8 & Windows.

So far I have two builds put together from research and one suggested by a friend as a reaction to those builds. I'm completely new to all of this and I'm just looking for any opinions from those familiar with recording and PCs. Any help is appreciated. The builds are as follows.

This first build was a combination of researched/recommended parts:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor (£343.39 @ Kustom PCs)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£30.99 @ Ebuyer)
Motherboard: Asus X99-A ATX LGA2011-3 Motherboard (£204.00 @ Amazon UK)
Memory: Kingston FURY 16GB (1 x 16GB) DDR4-2400 Memory (£68.40 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Samsung 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£44.86 @ Amazon UK)
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GT 730 2GB Video Card (£44.99 @ Amazon UK)
Case: Thermaltake Suppressor F31 ATX Mid Tower Case (£58.97 @ More Computers)
Power Supply: Corsair RMx 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply (£85.36 @ Amazon UK)
Total: £880.96
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-07-28 18:12 BST+0100

This is a slightly cheaper build where I scaled down on certain components:

CPU Cooler: be quiet! PURE ROCK 51.7 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler (£24.01 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: Asus X99-A ATX LGA2011-3 Motherboard (£204.00 @ Amazon UK)
Memory: PNY Anarchy 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory (£43.16 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Samsung 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£44.86 @ Amazon UK)