opinion on a DBX 266 compressor/gate

funkoptimus

I have a Tascam 788 that I record with and I was thinking about getting a compressor to use to record with. I have an a chance to buy a DBX 266 for a very cheap price. Is this a good comprssor gate to use for recording with. Drums in particular.

Im on a budget and this is why I was interested in it.

Thanx

The dbx266XL is pretty much useless.

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than living in the asshole country that made liberty a hollow word"
- Me

Last edited:
What is a 3630?

And one person likes it a lot, and the other thinks its useless.
Yet nobody will elaborate. Details people details, help a worthless poor newbie here!! ;)

3630...is the Alesis 3630 compressor. The revered, nay god-like piece of equipment that should grace every home recording studio, yay even the proffesional studios, with there transparent, clean sound. I know that Blue Bear swears by the Alesis 3630, even though he trashes it regularly here on the forums.

Actually it is crap, and Blue Bear doesn't have one, (although, I bet he swears at them) but I do...I swear I bought it before I knew any better, Bruce...don't be mad...It was a long time ago, and I really only used it in my guitar rig!! Honest!!

Well now that I have aired my dirty laundry, and cracked under the intense pressure, I return you to your topic...

OK, so its better than crap, but whats it really like?? I

Is good for someone on a budget??

Is it worth the $70 I would have to dish out for it??

Or should I just stick with the compression on the Tascam 788??

Thanx all!

I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than living in the asshole country that made liberty a hollow word"
- Me