Online record labels

dogbiscuit

Hey guys.
I'd really like to get a record label now. I'm a solo artist who records from home. I don't gig, everything is online, so I am looking for record labels to target who specialize in online only stuff. Anyone know of any, or lots?

Honestly, my experience has been that these days if you're not willing to promote yourself, nobody else is going to invest any money in promoting you either. That said, the tools are all there for you to spend a couple of hours a week (or a day if you're really into it) promoting yourself online.

The question you need to answer is: what is your goal for your music? Are you trying to make money, or do you just want as many people as possible to hear it? Are you trying to get "discovered" so you could maybe tour on your music someday, or just trying to get local gigs?

Once you've answered this question (or series of questions I suppose), it will be easier for you to decide how to go about distributing your music.

Hope this helps!

-steve.h

Hey guys.
I'd really like to get a record label now. I'm a solo artist who records from home. I don't gig, everything is online, so I am looking for record labels to target who specialize in online only stuff. Anyone know of any, or lots?

So you're looking for somebody to provide a website for you to host your music and take a percentage of your money?

Honestly, you are better off doing this yourself. If you're thinking being part of a label will get you promotion or whatever, to an extent you're right, but it's nothing you couldn't do a better job of yourself.

The question I think you should ask yourself is what you think/expect a label to do for you, especially considering most of the time what they do is take care of the whole distribution and creation of physical goods and/or provide some money for touring.