Online Mixing and Mastering engineers? (Legit or bullshit?)

hiphop24360

Hey, I have seen alot of websites that offer professional mixing engineers to mix your track for whatever $$ and websites offering to master your track for whatever $$......My question is are these websites a joke in general or are they legit...or is it case by case?

Some of them appear to have pretty impressive credentials (working with grammy winning artists and uber top dollar analog gear and charging only like $200 bucks a mix...even cheaper for mastering, normally Id just write it off "too good to be true" but the music industry has hit hard times)

At this point I finally have a decent setup for recording semi-polished vocals, Mic, Rode K2---comp, Art Pro VLA----Preamp, BL Auteur ---Interface EMU 404 USB 2.0......Computer.....Fairly well treated room.

My problem is that I am still fairly new to mixing, and a stranger to mastering ..... Believe me I am reading and practicing constantly, but at this point I just don't feel comfortable releasing my own mixes....just not quite there yet....plus it always seems better for someone else to mix your work other than you....Im told they will offer lots of insightful advice as well.

Now alot of this has to do with me as an artist of course, but im actually fairly satisfied with that aspect...and I think its time to start putting some shit out and hitting the pavement, however I don't want my albeit well recorded and well conceived tracks to end up in the "local garbage" category due to my (lack of) skillz as a mixing engineer. (Which im really not, although dream to be someday.)

What do ya'll think. Sorry for the ramble

Hey, I have seen alot of websites that offer professional mixing engineers to mix your track for whatever $$ and websites offering to master your track for whatever $$......My question is are these websites a joke in general or are they legit...or is it case by case?

It's case by case.