... One Man's Quest Into Studio Design

GCR

I'm posting this thread for a few reasons.

1. To have a place to document my process.
  2. To post my progress and get input and answers to problems/questions that arise in "Real Time".
  3. So others may read it an hopefully provide answers to their questions.
  4. To offer my help in any way in gratitude for your help.

In my first post I asked a question, but provided a great deal of information on the nature of this project and my goals for it. I will cut and paste that information to this post in Lei of re-typing it.

Hello,

I lurk here every now and again, but have never posted.
As this project goes from paper to reality, I'm sure that will change.

I'm a musician (Drums), who pays the bills by day as an Architect & Electrical Engineer (Hey, It's a job )

So, Music is not new to me, and construction and it's techniques are not new to me... but acoustical engineering is. I've been researching, for some time now, what it would take to finally have a proper music studio w/ recording capabilities. And a proper home outside the home for all my kits and gear.

Now, I'm not a sound engineer either but would like to expand my music interest by being able to record.

I've taken some considerable time researching all aspects of this project and have identified & set realistic goals for what I want out of this.

Here is the short and sweet of it in an attempt to not get too long winded. (If I haven't already)

• Playing: Playing Music Is My Primary Goal.. Both Alone & w/ a full Band. (Practice & Rehearsal Space) Hard Rock & Punk
  • Recording: For Fun, MySpace, Feedback & Demos. Will be initially investing about $1500-$2000 in Gear. (See Gear List Below)
  • Isolation: Achieve Reasonable Isolation so as to not bother my neighbors w/ late night practices. Also, To Isolate Control Room from Studio Space. (If I decide to go that route)